Book Reviews

Tales of Faith 3 Month Tour by Amanda Tero: Month 2

Banner Three Month Tour

It’s month 2 of this 3-month tour! And this month, we’re featuring The Secret Slipper. Cinderella is my personal favorite fairy tale, so I was thrilled to know that my little writing sister was working on a retelling. Although I’m a major romantic at heart, I was intrigued to hear how she would turn this romance into a non-romantic retelling. I was not disappointed! You can read my original review of the novella here
I have a special sneak peek of the novella further down, but you can read the full prologue here

Secret Slipper Blurb

Keep reading for a special sneak peek at the novella … 

“From stables to woods, I see.”

Lia grasped the basket tighter, if possible.

“You cannot just leave like that.”

“Dumphey…” Lia turned and looked up at the older lad. His patience must be wearing thin, even though he wore a grin. “I promise, ‘twasn’t me. I would have told you had I the chance.”

“Will you be back or do Noel and I need to take up for you now?” Dumphey didn’t sound accusing, but Lia stiffened as he pried the basket from her hands.

Lia kept her fingertips on the rim of the basket. “You needn’t do this.” She knew he wouldn’t heed her words, but she felt the need to say them anyway.

Dumphey shrugged. “I’m empty-handed walking back to the village. What has Bioti done with you this time?” His earnest eyes met her gaze.

Lia looked away and focused on walking smoothly while keeping up with Dumphey’s stride, though he had slowed down for her. “I shall return this evening. Leave chores for me. You have my word, I shall do it.” She glanced at Dumphey, long enough to see his mouth turn down in a frown.

“‘Tis too much work for a lass your age.”

“I shall have to make do.” Or do without dinner, which might be the situation anyway if she didn’t hurry.

“Hasn’t Bioti any goodness in her heart for one of your condition?”

Lia stopped and grabbed Dumphey’s arm, turning him to face her as the hateful blush heated her cheeks. “What of my condition? I make well enough most of the time.” Her voice turned hard. “You needn’t feel sorry for me, Dumphey.” She snatched the basket from his hands, sending the cloth flying to the ground. She would run away from him if she could. Instead, she limped as quickly as her feet would let her, keeping herself from crying out in the pain.

“I shall leave the lights for you to polish.” Dumphey’s voice was well behind her. Good. He wasn’t chasing her.

“I shall do it,” Lia called, not bothering to turn back and make sure Dumphey got her message.

Her dark blonde hair was plastered to her forehead by the time she returned to the kitchen, and she panted for breath.

“Be the highwayman after you?” The cook took the basket from Lia and looked inside. “You are almost too late. There are potatoes waiting to be scrubbed and diced. Quickly.”

Lia took the hint and hobbled to the table, where she grabbed a potato and began washing. Her fingers flew over the skins, making up for lost time. She would show Dumphey. She wasn’t a worthless lass. She could do the tasks given her, regardless of what he thought.

SS Sale

About the Tour

In anticipation of the release of “Protecting the Poor” (book three in the Tales of Faith series), Amanda is guest posting or being featured on over a dozen blogs each month. Each post is unique to the blog—an inspirational post, an article on the writing craft, an excerpt from one of the Tales of Faith books… you’ll just have to visit each blog to see what comes up. 😉 Amanda will link to each blog on With a Joyful Noise, so check in every week and see what blogs have a special Tales of Faith feature!

About Amanda

Amanda Tero began her love for words at a young age—reading anything she could get her hands on and penning short stories as young as age eight. Since graduation, she has honed her writing skills by dedicated practice and study of the writing craft. She began her journey of publication with a few short stories that she had written for her sisters and continued to add to her collection with other short stories, novellas, and novels. It is her utmost desire to write that which not only pleases her Lord and Savior, but also draws the reader into a deeper relationship with Jesus Christ.

Connect with Amanda
Email: amandaterobooks@gmail.com
Website:

Facebook
Instagram 
Pinterest
Blog 
Goodreads
Amazon

6 thoughts on “Tales of Faith 3 Month Tour by Amanda Tero: Month 2”

Leave a comment