Posted in Book Reviews

GIVEAWAY and Book Review: True to You by Becky Wade

142Exciting Start of a Brand-New Series by a Contemporary Romance Fan Favorite

After a devastating heartbreak three years ago, genealogist and historical village owner Nora Bradford has decided that burying her nose in her work and her books is far safer than romance in the here and now.

Unlike Nora, former Navy SEAL and Medal of Honor recipient John Lawson is a modern-day man, usually 100 percent focused on the present. But when he’s diagnosed with an inherited condition, he’s forced to dig into the secrets of his past and his adoption as an infant, enlisting Nora to help him uncover the identity of his birth mother.

The more time they spend together, the more this pair of opposites suspects they just might be a perfect match. However, John’s already dating someone and Nora’s not sure she’s ready to trade her crushes on fictional heroes for the risks of a real relationship. Finding the answers they’re seeking will test the limits of their identity, their faith, and their devotion to one another.

What I Loved: One of the first things that struck me when I finished reading, was how invested I had become with this family. I felt like I really knew them, and more than that, I really liked them in the same way you might feel about an old family friend. I can’t wait to revisit the Bradford family in the rest of the series!
I was able to start my Bradford journey with Wade’s novella, Then Came You.  While it’s not necessary to read the novella to understand the novel, if you’re planning to read it, I’d recommend reading the novella first since the novel spoils the novella. The novella is an epistolary, meaning that the entire story is told through letters, journals, and such. I adored how True to You carried on this theme by ending each chapter with a series of text messages or emails. It was a unique touch that paid off.
But above all the wonder, fun, charming characters, and moving plot is a solid Biblical message about finding your identity in Christ ALONE. I appreciated Wade’s efforts to bring these broken, and often self-reliant, characters to a deeper understanding of Christ and our relationship with Him.

A note to the conservative readers: Both the novella and the novel feature a rape. The details are handled in a tasteful way and never experienced through a point of view character, so the harsh realities are kept to a minimum. Because it wasn’t experienced through the point of view character, I wasn’t bothered by it, but you’ll have to judge for yourself.
The kissing scenes were also tastefully handled, but I’ll be honest and say that I found some of the lingo Wade used to be tasteless for a Christian novel. While I’m on board with characters showing and even thinking about their desires to some degree, I found it strange to have these desires so blatantly labeled with the terms “sexual desires” and low or high “libido.” It’s just not what I expected to find. It wasn’t to the degree that it ruined the story for me, but I could have done without it and been happier for it. Not everyone will agree with me. My comments here are meant for other readers who lean on the more conservative side in their fiction reading.

Rating and Recommendation: I’m giving True to You 5 stars and recommending it to anyone who enjoys Christian Romance.

~I received a copy from Litfuse. I was not compensated for this review. All thoughts are my own.

GIVEAWAY INFORMATION:

 Do opposites really attract? John and Nora might just be the perfect match. Find out in True to You, book one in Becky Wade’s new series! Genealogist and historical village owner Nora Bradford has decided that burying her nose in her work and her books is far safer than romance in the here and now. Former Navy SEAL and Medal of Honor recipient John Lawson is a modern-day man, usually 100 percent focused on the present. But when he’s diagnosed with an inherited condition, he’s forced to dig into the secrets of his past and his adoption as an infant, enlisting Nora to help him uncover the identity of his birth mother. Finding the answers they’re seeking will test the limits of their identity, their faith, and their devotion to one another.

Celebrate the launch of Becky Wade’s new series by entering to win a fabulous prize pack and $100 cash card!

One grand prize winner will receive:

  • A copy of True to You
  • A $100 Visa cash card
  • A prize pack hand-picked by Becky

Enter today by clicking the icon below, but hurry! The giveaway ends on May 30. The winner will be announced May 31 on the Litfuse blog.

Leave a Reply

